The Cleave Poetry Webzine [ISSN: 1758-9223]

Afterwards, Janet: A Murder Mystery in Speech Acts by Diana Manister

In submission on November 29, 2008 at 7:40 am
12janet6x9mrg



Bookmark and Share

  1. one of the most intriguing cleaves I’ve read—a real breakthrough in terms of cleave format (html, pdf, anthology beauty)!!!

  2. Woooow!!!!!!!!!!
    Dynamite received in desolate New England winter.

  3. I’m really sorry, I am extreamly new to this form and although I get the basic premis, and some of the stuff on this website is phenominal, I do not understand how this poem fits the form and I am really trying please help me here!

  4. The basic cleave form, for me at least, is like a doorway or a stepping stone – to ‘the beyond’. “Afterwards, Janet … ” is one of those poems I see as in ‘the beyond’ – which means very different things to different people.

    For me the poem explores larger fragments cleaving together instead of single words or small sentences. The cleaving of words and image takes the form further.

    Hope this helps.
    Other cleave poets may have a slightly different view of how they cleave and why.

  5. Dear Nafulla,

    In “cleave” poems the phrase is radiant in itself, the sentence can stand alone, outside its relationship to the poem as a whole.

    This focus on the autonomous fragment is not new of course; T.S. Eliot expressed this vision in The Waste Land, and Pound in The Cantos. The cleaved poem is more radically fragmented.

    To me this is the aspect of cleave poems that most intensely focusses attention on language, although the cleave tends to balance language’s agonistic aspects of transparent signifier and sensible entity more than much contemporary poetry.

    I am interested in poetry that privileges language in the way that previous humanistic poetry valorized the human personality. That’s my subject.

    My readers I hope have a relationship with the physical aspect of my poems as well as what is signified, rather than with me.

    Diana Manister

Leave a Reply

