The Cleave Poetry Webzine [ISSN: 1758-9223]

Submission: Andrea Barton

In submission on October 11, 2008 at 7:19 am

A great little cleave by Andrea. Something to ponder on.

I’m out of town until Thursday.

Also, I’m trying out some different formatting.

Enjoy.

Lots more cleaves and thoughts when I return.

           Things I Need by Andrea Barton

             In the end - it comes to this:
          I parse words - on a grocery pad
        meant for lists - for things I need.
      A line drawn down - the middle of my words
            my thoughts - rent in half
            on a Sunday - in the wee days of this new fall
at the end of September - I believe
                 I need - and want
            to remember - these words.

  • Bookmark and Share

    1. interesting layout.

      i like the poem…
      and the form of the cleave on the page.

      i’ve been getting lazy: skipping the bold on the
      left vertical and letting the left margin handle the
      poem rather than center everything around the
      cleave axis going down the middle…

      interesting variations on form…

    Leave a Reply

